top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
54 Results Found For: SUNY series in Ancient Greek Philosophy
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Erotic Wisdom
Erotic Wisdom (December 2008)
Philosophy and Intermediacy in Plato's Symposium
Gary Alan Scott - Author
William A. Welton - Author

A lively and highly readable commentary on one of Plato’s most beloved dialogues.

Erotic Wisdom provides a careful reading of one of Plato’s most beloved dialogues, the Symposium, which explores the nature and scope of human desire (erôs). Gary Alan Scott and William A. Welton engage all of the dialogue’s major themes, devoting special attention to illuminatin...(Read More)

 
 
Aristotle's Politics Today
Aristotle's Politics Today (October 2007)
Lenn E. Goodman - Editor
Robert B. Talisse - Editor

Examines the implications of Aristotle’s political thought for contemporary political theory.

According to Aristotle, man’s essential sociality implies a distinctive conception of politics, one in which all political associations exist for the sake of the moral perfection of human beings. This stands in sharp contrast with the modern view of politics that man is not “by nature” political; rat...(Read More)
 
 
Theophany
Theophany (July 2007)
The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Eric D. Perl - Author

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The work of Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite stands at a cusp in the history of thought: it is at once Hellenic and Christian, classical and medieval, philosophical and theological. Unlike the predominantly theological or text-historical studies which constitute much of the scholarly literature on Diony...(Read More)
 
 
Plotinus and the Presocratics
Plotinus and the Presocratics (March 2007)
A Philosophical Study of Presocratic Influences in Plotinus' Enneads
Giannis Stamatellos - Author

The first book-length philosophical study on the Presocratic influences in Plotinus’ Enneads.

Filling the void in the current scholarship, Giannis Stamatellos provides the first book-length study of the Presocratic influences in Plotinus’ Enneads. Widely regarded as the founder of Neoplatonism, Plotinus (204–270 AD) assimilated eight centuries of Greek thought into his work. In this book Sta...(Read More)
 
 
The Greek Concept of Nature
The Greek Concept of Nature (April 2005)
Gerard Naddaf - Author

Explores the origin and evolution of the Greek concept of nature up until the time of Plato.

In The Greek Concept of Nature, Gerard Naddaf utilizes historical, mythological, and linguistic perspectives to reconstruct the origin and evolution of the Greek concept of phusis. Usually translated as nature, phusis has been decisive both for the early history of philosophy and for its subsequent developm...(Read More)
 
 
The Ethics of Ontology
The Ethics of Ontology (August 2004)
Rethinking an Aristotelian Legacy
Christopher P. Long - Author

A novel rereading of the relationship between ethics and ontology in Aristotle.

Concerned with the meaning and function of principles in an era that appears to have given up on their possibility altogether, Christopher P. Long traces the paths of Aristotle's thinking concerning finite being from the Categories, through the Physics, to the Metaphysics, and ultimately into the Nicomachean Ethics...(Read More)
 
 
Aristotle
Aristotle (March 2003)
Otfried Höffe - Author
Christine Salazar - Translator

A comprehensive introduction to the life and work of Aristotle.

Aristotle belongs to the small class of philosophers who were not only influential in a particular field of philosophy but also shaped the profile of every philosophical discipline. In this book Otfried Höffe provides a comprehensive introduction to the life and work of Aristotle, covering well-known Aristotelian topics such as ethics, politics, and metaphys...(Read More)
 
 
Aristotle on False Reasoning
Aristotle on False Reasoning (March 2003)
Language and the World in the Sophistical Refutations
Scott G. Schreiber - Author

A comprehensive look at Aristotle's treatise on logical fallacies.
Presenting the first book-length study in English of Aristotle’s Sophistical Refutations, this work takes a fresh look at this seminal text on false reasoning. Through a careful and critical analysis of Aristotle’s examples of sophistical reasoning, Scott G. Schreiber explores Aristotle’s rationale for his taxonomy of twelve fallacy types. Contrary to certain m...(Read More)
 
 
Anaximander in Context
Anaximander in Context (October 2002)
New Studies in the Origins of Greek Philosophy
Dirk L. Couprie - Author
Robert Hahn - Author
Gerard Naddaf - Author

Places the development of Anaximander's thought within social, political, cosmological, astronomical, and technological contexts.

Promoting a new, broadly interdisciplinary horizon for future studies in early Greek philosophy, Dirk L. Couprie, Robert Hahn, and Gerard Naddaf establish the cultural context in which Anaximander's thought developed and in which the origins of Greek philosophy unfolded in its ear...(Read More)
 
 
Cognition of Value in Aristotle's Ethics
Cognition of Value in Aristotle's Ethics (July 2002)
Promise of Enrichment, Threat of Destruction
Deborah Achtenberg - Author

Argues that the central cognitive component of ethical virtue for Aristotle is awareness of the value of particulars.

With this new interpretation, Deborah Achtenberg argues that metaphysics is central to ethics for Aristotle and that the ethics can be read on two levels—imprecisely, in terms of its own dialectically grounded and imprecise claims, or in terms of the metaphysical terms and concepts that give the e...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg