top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
50 Results Found For: SUNY series in Ancient Greek Philosophy
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
The Other Plato
The Other Plato (December 2012)
The Tübingen Interpretation of Plato's Inner-Academic Teachings
Dmitri Nikulin - Editor

Collected writings on Plato’s unwritten teachings.

Offering a provocative alternative to the dominant approaches of Plato scholarship, the Tübingen School suggests that the dialogues do not tell the full story of Plato’s philosophical teachings. Texts and fragments by his students and their followers—most famously Aristotle’s Physics—point to an “unwritten doct...(Read More)
 
 
The Ontology of Socratic Questioning in Plato's Early Dialogues
The Ontology of Socratic Questioning in Plato's Early Dialogues (November 2012)
Sean D. Kirkland - Author

2013 Symposium Book Award, presented by the Symposium: Canadian Journal of Continental Philosophy

A provocative close reading revealing a radical, proto-phenomenological Socrates.

Modern interpreters of Plato’s Socrates have generally taken the dialogues to be aimed at working out objective truth. Attending closely to the texts of the early dialogues and the que...(Read More)
 
 
Aristotle's Concept of Chance
Aristotle's Concept of Chance (March 2012)
Accidents, Cause, Necessity, and Determinism
John Dudley - Author

The first exhaustive study of Aristotle’s concept of chance.

This landmark book is the first to provide a comprehensive account of Aristotle’s concept of chance. Chance is invoked by many to explain the order in the universe, the origins of life, and human freedom and happiness. An understanding of Aristotle’s concept of chance is indispensable for an appreciation of his views on nature and et...(Read More)
 
 
Archaeology and the Origins of Philosophy
Archaeology and the Origins of Philosophy (March 2010)
Robert Hahn - Author

Detailed study of how Anaximander’s cosmological and philosophical conceptions were affected by architectural technologies.

Promoting a new way to study and illuminate early Greek philosophy, Archaeology and the Origins of Philosophy explores archaeological resources and art historical evidence to contribute to the ongoing debates concerning the origins of philosophy. Focusing on the philosopher A...(Read More)
 
 
Eros and the Intoxications of Enlightenment
Eros and the Intoxications of Enlightenment (March 2010)
On Plato's Symposium
Steven Berg - Author

Provocative reinterpretation of Plato’s Symposium.

An original analysis of one of Plato’s most well-known and pivotal dialogues, this study is based upon the effort to think together the most manifest themes of the Symposium (the nature of eros and the relation between poetry and philosophy) with its less obvious but no less essential themes (the character of the city and the nature and limi...(Read More)
 
 
Logos and Muthos
Logos and Muthos (October 2009)
Philosophical Essays in Greek Literature
William Wians - Editor

Explores the philosophical dimensions present in the works of ancient Greek poets and playwrights.

What are the connections between ancient Greek literary and philosophical texts? Are they in fact two rival forms of discourse mutually opposed to one another? Concentrating on literary authors such as Homer, Hesiod, the Archaic poets, and the tragic playwrights, the contributors in this pioneering volume examin...(Read More)
 
 
Erotic Wisdom
Erotic Wisdom (December 2008)
Philosophy and Intermediacy in Plato's Symposium
Gary Alan Scott - Author
William A. Welton - Author

A lively and highly readable commentary on one of Plato’s most beloved dialogues.

Erotic Wisdom provides a careful reading of one of Plato’s most beloved dialogues, the Symposium, which explores the nature and scope of human desire (erôs). Gary Alan Scott and William A. Welton engage all of the dialogue’s major themes, devoting special attention to illuminatin...(Read More)

 
 
Aristotle's Politics Today
Aristotle's Politics Today (October 2007)
Lenn E. Goodman - Editor
Robert B. Talisse - Editor

Examines the implications of Aristotle’s political thought for contemporary political theory.

According to Aristotle, man’s essential sociality implies a distinctive conception of politics, one in which all political associations exist for the sake of the moral perfection of human beings. This stands in sharp contrast with the modern view of politics that man is not “by nature” political; rat...(Read More)
 
 
Theophany
Theophany (July 2007)
The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Eric D. Perl - Author

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The work of Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite stands at a cusp in the history of thought: it is at once Hellenic and Christian, classical and medieval, philosophical and theological. Unlike the predominantly theological or text-historical studies which constitute much of the scholarly literature on Diony...(Read More)
 
 
Plotinus and the Presocratics
Plotinus and the Presocratics (March 2007)
A Philosophical Study of Presocratic Influences in Plotinus' Enneads
Giannis Stamatellos - Author

The first book-length philosophical study on the Presocratic influences in Plotinus’ Enneads.

Filling the void in the current scholarship, Giannis Stamatellos provides the first book-length study of the Presocratic influences in Plotinus’ Enneads. Widely regarded as the founder of Neoplatonism, Plotinus (204–270 AD) assimilated eight centuries of Greek thought into his work. In this book Sta...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg