top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
In the Catskills and My Boyhood
In the Catskills and My Boyhood
Click on image to enlarge

John Burroughs - Author
Edward Renehan - Introduction
Excelsior Editions
New York Classics
Price: $95.00 
Hardcover - 232 pages
Release Date: October 2021
ISBN13: 978-1-4384-8569-0

Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...

Available as a Kindle Edition.
Click icon below...

Summary Read First Chapter image missing

Classic works by naturalist John Burroughs on his beloved Catskill region.

Henry James called John Burroughs (1837–1921) "a more humorous, more available, and more sociable Thoreau." Walt Whitman in turn extolled Burroughs as "a child of the woods, fields, hills—native to them in a rare sense (in a sense almost a miracle)." Throughout his many books and essays, Burroughs was never more eloquent on nature themes than when writing about his native countryside: the woods, streams, and mountains of the Catskills in New York. In the Catskills collects the very best of Burroughs's writings about his birthplace in a book that is sure to be treasured by all lovers of the region as well as lovers of the literature of nature. This new edition includes an introduction by Burroughs biographer Edward Renehan and an additional work not included in previous editions, entitled My Boyhood.

"With a new introduction by Burroughs biographer Edward Renehan, this book compiles some of Burrough's best essays on the streams and mountains of the region. The collection concludes with My Boyhood, a work not included in previous editions. The eight works, including 'Speckled Trout' and 'Phases of Farm Life,' cover a range of natural phenomena that reveal the charm and wonder of the mountains Burroughs called home." — Chronogram

John Burroughs was a well-known naturalist and prolific writer on his native Catskills. Edward Renehan is the author of more than twenty books, including John Burroughs: An American Naturalist. He lives in Wickford, Rhode Island.

Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

New Introduction
Edward Renehan

In the Catskills



I. The Snow-Walkers

II. A White Day and a Red Fox

III. Phases of Farm Life

IV. In the Hemlocks

V. Birds'-Nests

VI. The Heart of the Southern Catskills

VII. Speckled Trout

VIII. A Bed of Boughs

My Boyhood

Related Subjects