top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Mothership Connections
A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology
Mothership Connections
Click on image to enlarge

Theodore Walker Jr. - Author
SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought
Price: $35.00 
Hardcover - 164 pages
Release Date: May 2004
ISBN10: 0-7914-6089-4
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-6089-4

Quantity:  
Price: $25.95 
Paperback - 164 pages
Release Date: September 2014
ISBN10: 0-7914-6090-8
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-6090-0

Quantity:  
Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...


Summary Read First Chapter image missing

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.

Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connections to the originating influences of transatlantic slavery and black Atlantic experiences are essential to any adequate account of modernity and postmodernity. He also argues that metaphysics is essential to theology and moral theory, synthesizing neoclassical metaphysics and black theology to develop a black Atlantic account of metaphysical aspects of struggle, power, and ethical deliberation.

"The first book to bring together modern, postmodern, and black Atlantic discourses into conversation, it presents a creative and compelling method and argument comparing and contrasting neoclassical metaphysics and black theology." — Dwight N. Hopkins, author of Heart and Head: Black Theology—Past, Present, and Future

"This book breaks new ground, and the topics treated are central for Christian theology and postmodern thinking." — Philip Devenish, coeditor of Witness and Existence: Essays in Honor of Schubert M. Ogden

Theodore Walker Jr. is Associate Professor of Ethics and Society at the Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University and the author of Empower the People: Social Ethics for the African-American Church.


Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

Preface

Acknowledgments

Series Introduction

Abbreviations

PART ONE: Modernity in Constructive Postmodern and Black Atlantic Views

1. Constructive Postmodern Views of Modernity: David Ray Griffin, William A. Beardslee, Joe Holland, and Frederick Ferré

2. Black Atlantic Views of Modernity: Charles H. Long and Paul Gilroy

PART TWO: Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology: A Description

3. What is Neoclassical Metaphysics?

4. What is Black Theology?

PART THREE: Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology: A Black Atlantic Synthesis

5. Toward a Metaphysics of Struggle

6. Toward a Metaphysics of Power

7. Toward a Metaphysics of Ethics

8. Epilogue: Toward a Fully Adequate Postmodern Theology

APPENDIX A: What is Metaphysics?

APPENDIX B: What is Theology?

Notes

References

Note on Supporting Center

Index

SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought



Related Subjects
42426/4-6090-0(JFB/LDS/AV)

Related Titles

Knowledge, Evolution and Paradox
Knowledge, Evolution and Paradox
Thinking with Irigaray
Thinking with Irigaray
The Ages of the World
The Ages of the World
The Animal Rights/Environmental Ethics Debate
The Animal Rights/Environmental Ethics Debate
Rethinking Facticity
Rethinking Facticity
Corporeal Generosity
Corporeal Generosity
Kierkegaard and Kant
Kierkegaard and Kant
Spirits Hovering Over the Ashes
Spirits Hovering Over the Ashes
Time, Continuity, and Indeterminacy
Time, Continuity, and Indeterminacy
The Reenchantment of Science
The Reenchantment of Science



 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg