top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
The Soul in Everyday Life
The Soul in Everyday Life
Click on image to enlarge

Daniel Chapelle - Author
Price: $65.50 
Hardcover - 288 pages
Release Date: September 2003
ISBN10: 0-7914-5863-6
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-5863-1

Quantity:  
Price: $31.95 
Paperback - 288 pages
Release Date: September 2003
ISBN10: 0-7914-5864-4
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-5864-8

Quantity:  
Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...


Summary

Argues that contemporary psychology neglects the soul and addresses ways to remedy this.

The Soul in Everyday Life
argues that modern psychology has given up on dealing with the idea of soul (or psyche), even though the field is named after it. If psychology wishes to be truly satisfying, it needs to be more than behavioral science, according to Daniel Chapelle. He concludes that psychology can only satisfy the deepest human needs when it can offer a sense of soul in everyday life. He explores ways of restoring this sense of soul to everyday life by examining how talk about something as elusive as the soul is possible and by reanimating a sense for what the notion of soul can mean. Working in the tradition of Nietzsche, Freud, Jung, and Jung's student James Hillman, Chapelle reaches back into millennia of Western thought to reanimate the dying sense of soul in everyday life and put the "psyche" back in "psychology."

“The book will speak strongest to those receptive to archetypal psychology and who desire an inspiring synthesis of views aiming to show that what seems ordinary in everyday life is truly extraordinary and miraculous.” — Religious Studies Review

“A wonderful book.” — International Review of Biblical Studies

"Chapelle takes the archetypal psychological way of thinking about psychotherapy and psychology and gives it a novel twist, one derived from a reading of Nietzsche. He moves further in the direction that James Hillman initiated, of speaking of the archetypal rather than the archetypes (in a Platonic or Kantian fashion). Chapelle is quite brilliant, in shifting from believing in archetypes to seeing archetypally. He provides fresh insights and connects them to one's everyday life, and there is a great deal of therapeutic wisdom in this book, in the way that Chapelle develops Nietzsche's thought of the eternal return of all things. Chapelle's is a fresh and original voice." — Robert Kugelmann, author of The Windows of Soul

"A careful reader will find self-reflection and 'soul-searching' made relevant again." — David Appelbaum, author of The Delay of the Heart

Daniel Chapelle is a practicing psychologist with a background in theoretical and philosophical psychology and the author of Nietzsche and Psychoanalysis, also published by SUNY Press.


Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

Preface

Acknowledgments

Introduction: Finding Ways to Talk about the Soul

Part I: The Goal

1. The Soul's Own Fundamentalism

2. How to Become Who One Is

3. Splendor Beyond Good and Evil

4. Now and Always

5. First Invention, Then Discovery

6. To Find a Good Book to Live In

Part II: The Method

7. Magical Realism in Everyday Life

8. Immaculate Conception in Everyday Life

9. Here and Now

10. It Is Enough and It Is Good

11. Seeing Is Believing

12. Everyman's Own Double

Appendix

Works Cited

Index



Related Subjects
41819/41820(JFB/LDS/AV)

Related Titles

The Wilderness of Dreams
The Wilderness of Dreams
Subtle Activism
Subtle Activism
The Last Resistance
The Last Resistance
About Psychology
About Psychology
Psychology and the Question of Agency
Psychology and the Question of Agency
David Hartley on Human Nature
David Hartley on Human Nature
Lacan and Theological Discourse
Lacan and Theological Discourse
Integral Conflict
Integral Conflict
The Great Adventure
The Great Adventure
The Power of Reinforcement
The Power of Reinforcement



 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg