top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Narralogues
Truth in Fiction
Narralogues
Click on image to enlarge

Ronald Sukenick - Author
SUNY series, The Margins of Literature
Price: $47.50 
Hardcover - 142 pages
Release Date: January 2000
ISBN10: 0-7914-4399-X
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-4399-6

Quantity:  
Price: $26.95 
Paperback - 142 pages
Release Date: January 2000
ISBN10: 0-7914-4400-7
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-4400-9

Quantity:  
Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...


Summary Read First Chapter image missing

These "narralogues" combine story and argument, moving from Socratic dialogue to outright narrative, and ultimately making the case that fiction is a medium for telling the truth.

In Narralogues, Ronald Sukenick continues his important and original contributions to the cutting edge of contemporary fiction. Here he proposes fiction as a medium for telling the truth, while recognizing that the implicit contradiction in these terms is more than cheap paradox. The "narralogues," simultaneously narrative and argument, story and rhetorical pleading, exemplify and argue for fiction as persuasion in a sequence that moves from Socratic dialogue to outright narrative, using throughout all the traditional techniques of fiction, from comedy and irony to suspense and the erotic.

"Under its engaging dialogic guise, this book rethinks critically numerous aspects of contemporary culture, from its main terminological and aesthetic debates, to its intellectual and discursive practices. This book makes an important contribution to the understanding and critique of our cultural 'Zeitgeist,' defining new approaches and responses to it. Sukenick's 'narralogues' are provocative, unconventional, yet easy to read." -- Marcel Cornis-Pope, author of Hermeneutic Desire and Critical Rewriting: Narrative Interpretation in the Wake of Poststructuralism

"For over thirty years Ronald Sukenick has been on the leading edge of developments within and about contemporary fiction. Indeed, for most of this period he has been the leading edge himself, crafting a literary personality that puts forward his behavior on the page as an example of the argument his art makes. Readers have come to appreciate him in the tradition of Emerson and Whitman, not to mention Henry Miller, and Narralogues is a fitting climax to this development." -- Jerome Klinkowitz, author of Keeping Literary Company: Working with Writers since the Sixties

One of the founders of the Fiction Collective, Ronald Sukenick is Professor of English Literature at the University of Colorado, Boulder. He is the author of more than a dozen works of fiction and nonfiction, including his most recent novel, Mosaic Man.


Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

Introduction

Gorgeous

Chat

A la Bastille

Art Brute

Dick and Eddie

Narralogue on Everything

What's Watts

Divide

Death on the Supply Side

Name of the Dog



Related Subjects
36013/36014(JP/LDS/)

Related Titles

La Valse and Foreign
La Valse and Foreign
A Bundle of Myrrh
A Bundle of Myrrh
Borrowed Lives
Borrowed Lives
Seeking Alice
Seeking Alice
The History of the Sevarambians
The History of the Sevarambians
The Book of Strangers
The Book of Strangers
After Freud
After Freud
Over the Rooftops of Time
Over the Rooftops of Time
Unruly Catholic Nuns
Unruly Catholic Nuns
Home
Home



 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg