top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Crazy Mountains
Learning from Wilderness to Weigh Technology
Crazy Mountains
Click on image to enlarge

David Strong - Author
SUNY series in Environmental Public Policy
N/A
Hardcover - 264 pages
Release Date: November 1995
ISBN10: 0-7914-2651-3
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-2651-7

Out of Print
Price: $33.95 
Paperback - 264 pages
Release Date: October 1995
ISBN10: 0-7914-2652-1
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-2652-4

Quantity:  
Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...


Summary Read First Chapter image missing

In the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It, this is a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains in Montana, urging us to awaken from the spell of technology.

Reality is slipping away, writes David Strong in Crazy Mountains, and is being eroded by a glut of technological devices and commodities. But all is not lost if we learn to care for the things at the center of the good life.

Written in the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It with philosophical clarity and literary power, this book opens with a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains of Montana, an island of high, craggy peaks, forest, meadows, and rushing streams, surrounded by the sweep of the high plains. A newly-bulldozed road and a planned timber sale jeopardize the wild character of the range and trigger the wide-ranging reflections of this remarkable book.

Technology is transforming Earth in increasingly extensive ways, and Strong urges us to awaken from the spell of technology--from the unexamined belief that its devices and commodities make our lives good. He warns that even an environmental ethic can be subverted by the glamorous pull of the consumer culture. From wilderness we learn what things are real and how this reality can re-order our lives, our communities, and our nation. We learn another way to be.

This is a one-of-a-kind book. It soars gracefully, yet presents a comprehensive vision of the challenge wilderness offers to our contemporary culture.

David Strong
is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Rocky Mountain College.


Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments

Part I: The Spell of Technology

1.  The Crazy Mountains

2.  The Danger to the Crazy Mountains

3.  The Environmentalist's Reply

4.  The Other Story

5.  The Technological Subversion of Environmental Ethics

6.  Granting the Thing its Eloquence

Part II:  Learning from Wilderness

7.  To Listen Again

8.  To Consider Things Again

9.  To Experience Things Again

10.  To Experience Wilderness

11.  To Speak Again

12.  To Build Again

Notes

Index


Related Subjects
30285/30286(WDE/DG/)

Related Titles

Powers of Imagining
Powers of Imagining
Naturalism and Historical Understanding
Naturalism and Historical Understanding
Leo Strauss and the Crisis of Rationalism
Leo Strauss and the Crisis of Rationalism
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy
Celestina and Castilian Humanism at the End of the Fifteenth Century
Celestina and Castilian Humanism at the End of the Fifteenth Century
Michael Polanyi
Michael Polanyi
Nietzsche and Embodiment
Nietzsche and Embodiment
Meditations of Global First Philosophy
Meditations of Global First Philosophy
Panpsychism and the Religious Attitude
Panpsychism and the Religious Attitude
The Political Dimensions of Aristotle's Ethics
The Political Dimensions of Aristotle's Ethics



 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg