top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Crazy Mountains
Learning from Wilderness to Weigh Technology
Crazy Mountains
Click on image to enlarge

David Strong - Author
SUNY series in Environmental Public Policy
N/A
Hardcover - 264 pages
Release Date: November 1995
ISBN10: 0-7914-2651-3
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-2651-7

Out of Print
Price: $33.95 
Paperback - 264 pages
Release Date: October 1995
ISBN10: 0-7914-2652-1
ISBN13: 978-0-7914-2652-4

Quantity:  
Available as a Google eBook
for other eReaders and tablet devices.
Click icon below...


Summary Read First Chapter image missing

In the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It, this is a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains in Montana, urging us to awaken from the spell of technology.

Reality is slipping away, writes David Strong in Crazy Mountains, and is being eroded by a glut of technological devices and commodities. But all is not lost if we learn to care for the things at the center of the good life.

Written in the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It with philosophical clarity and literary power, this book opens with a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains of Montana, an island of high, craggy peaks, forest, meadows, and rushing streams, surrounded by the sweep of the high plains. A newly-bulldozed road and a planned timber sale jeopardize the wild character of the range and trigger the wide-ranging reflections of this remarkable book.

Technology is transforming Earth in increasingly extensive ways, and Strong urges us to awaken from the spell of technology--from the unexamined belief that its devices and commodities make our lives good. He warns that even an environmental ethic can be subverted by the glamorous pull of the consumer culture. From wilderness we learn what things are real and how this reality can re-order our lives, our communities, and our nation. We learn another way to be.

This is a one-of-a-kind book. It soars gracefully, yet presents a comprehensive vision of the challenge wilderness offers to our contemporary culture.

David Strong
is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Rocky Mountain College.


Bookmark and Share

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments

Part I: The Spell of Technology

1.  The Crazy Mountains

2.  The Danger to the Crazy Mountains

3.  The Environmentalist's Reply

4.  The Other Story

5.  The Technological Subversion of Environmental Ethics

6.  Granting the Thing its Eloquence

Part II:  Learning from Wilderness

7.  To Listen Again

8.  To Consider Things Again

9.  To Experience Things Again

10.  To Experience Wilderness

11.  To Speak Again

12.  To Build Again

Notes

Index


Related Subjects
30285/30286(WDE/DG/)

Related Titles

Reading Heidegger from the Start
Reading Heidegger from the Start
Whitehead's Metaphysics of Extension and Solidarity
Whitehead's Metaphysics of Extension and Solidarity
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection
Essays in Ancient Greek Philosophy V
Essays in Ancient Greek Philosophy V
Hermeneutics and Education
Hermeneutics and Education
Postphenomenology
Postphenomenology
Plato, Time, and Education
Plato, Time, and Education
Spirit, the Family, and the Unconscious in Hegel's Philosophy
Spirit, the Family, and the Unconscious in Hegel's Philosophy
Hegel's Theory of Imagination
Hegel's Theory of Imagination
Being and Dialectic
Being and Dialectic



 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg