top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
32 Results Found For: SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Whitehead's Philosophy
Whitehead's Philosophy (October 2004)
Points of Connection
Janusz A. Polanowski - Editor
Donald W. Sherburne - Editor

Demonstrates myriad points of connection between Whitehead's philosophy and mainstream philosophical traditions.
This volume explores the range of Alfred North Whitehead's philosophy and his relevance to contemporary philosophical traditions. While philosophers and theologians with only a passing acquaintance with Whitehead might think that his philosophy is unconnected to our Western philosophical tradition, the contributors prove that...(Read More)
 
 
Mothership Connections
Mothership Connections (May 2004)
A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology
Theodore Walker Jr. - Author

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.
Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connections to the origi...(Read More)
 
 
Higher Education in the Making
Higher Education in the Making (February 2004)
Pragmatism, Whitehead, and the Canon
George Allan - Author

Argues for a pragmatic canon always in need of renovation.
George Allan argues that the so-called "culture wars" in higher education are the result of the dogmatic and unyielding certainty that both canonists and anti-canonists bring to any discussion of how best to organize an undergraduate curriculum. He then proposes a middle way. Drawing from William James, John Dewey, and Alfred North Whitehead, he contrasts the absolut...(Read More)
 
 
Physics and Whitehead
Physics and Whitehead (December 2003)
Quantum, Process, and Experience
Timothy E. Eastman - Editor
Hank Keeton - Editor

Leading scholars explore the connections between quantum physics and process philosophy.
Featuring discussions and dialogue by prominent scientists and philosophers, this book explores the rich interface of contemporary physics and Whitehead-inspired process thought. The contributors share the conviction that quantum physics not only corroborates many of Whitehead's philosophical theses, but is also illuminated by them. Thus, though dif...(Read More)
 
 
The Virtue of Nonviolence
The Virtue of Nonviolence (December 2003)
From Gautama to Gandhi
Nicholas F. Gier - Author

A study in comparative virtue ethics.
Virtue ethics has been a major focus in contemporary moral philosophy since the publication of Alasdair MacIntyre's book After Virtue. Here, in The Virtue of Nonviolence, Nicholas F. Gier argues that virtue ethics is the best option for constructive postmodern philosophy and that Gandhi's own thought is best viewed in light of this tradition. He supports this position by formulating Ga...(Read More)
 
 
Process and Difference
Process and Difference (May 2002)
Between Cosmological and Poststructuralist Postmodernisms
Catherine Keller - Editor
Anne Daniell - Editor

Leading scholars explore the relationship between deconstructive theory and process thought.

The similarities and creative tensions between French-based poststructuralism and Whiteheadian process thought are examined here by leading scholars. Although both approaches are labeled 'postmodern,' their own proponents often take them to be so dissimilar as to be opposed. Contributors to this book, however, argue that processing these diffe...(Read More)
 
 
The End of Modern Medicine
The End of Modern Medicine (December 2001)
Biomedical Science under a Microscope
Laurence Foss - Author

Proposes a radically reconfigured medical model centered on mind-body interaction.
The End of Modern Medicine
chronicles the work of a small, influential band of medical theorists and clinicians who over the past decade have sought to redress the physical fundamentalism of the biomedical model that shaped their professional training. Laurence Foss challenges the prevailing medical model whereby mind and body are essentially separated...(Read More)
 
 
Postmodernism and Public Policy
Postmodernism and Public Policy (November 2001)
Reframing Religion, Culture, Education, Sexuality, Class, Race, Politics, and the Economy
John B. Cobb Jr. - Author

Develops a naturalistic postmodern perspective to make constructive proposals about a wide range of topics now in public discussion.
One of America's preeminent systematic theologians, John B. Cobb Jr. examines a range of social issues in his latest groundbreaking work, Postmodernism and Public Policy. Cobb uses a naturalistic postmodern perspective to make constructive proposals about a wide range of topics in the public eye. Po...(Read More)
 
 
Living and Value
Living and Value (June 2001)
Toward a Constructive Postmodern Ethics
Frederick Ferre - Author

Based on an ecologically inspired wordview, defends ethics against skepticism and irrealism.
Providing a worthy conclusion to Ferré's trilogy on preserving value in a postmodern world, Living and Value places ethics into the wider context of religion, God, and evil, and offers postmodern suggestions for environmental, technological, and political reforms.
“Ferré finds much of contemporary moral ...(Read More)
 
 
World in Process
World in Process (November 2000)
Creativity and Interconnection in the New Physics
John A. Jungerman - Author

Shows how modern physics supports basic claims of process philosophy.
World in Process provides not only an up-to-date description of the ideas of modern physics and cosmology, but also connects those ideas to process thought. To make these connections, a brief introduction to process philosophy is provided so that the new physics and process thought can be integrated.
"Jungerman has done us a great service. The book...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg