top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
130 Results Found For: Theology
Display Text Only Results
Page: 6  7  8  9  10   <<    <    >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
The Legacy of Anne Conway (1631-1679)
The Legacy of Anne Conway (1631-1679) (May 2008)
Reverberations from a Mystical Naturalism
Carol Wayne White - Author

Explores the work of Anne Conway, whose philosophy of the natural world incorporated a spiritual vision.

Carol Wayne White introduces readers to the religious naturalism of the seventeenth-century English philosopher Anne Conway, whose work offers an analysis of the mechanical conception of nature. White shows how Conway’s mystical cosmology provides an alternative to the dominant mechanistic models advanc...(Read More)
 
 
The Philosopher as Witness
The Philosopher as Witness (May 2008)
Fackenheim and Responses to the Holocaust
Michael L. Morgan - Editor
Benjamin Pollock - Editor

Responses to Fackenheim’s reflections on the centrality of the Holocaust to philosophy, Jewish thought, and contemporary experience.

Emil Fackenheim (1916–2003), one of the most important Jewish philosophers of the twentieth century, called on the world at large not only to bear witness to the Holocaust as an unprecedented assault on Judaism and on humanity, but also to recognize that the question o...(Read More)
 
 
Paul Ricoeur and the Poetic Imperative
Paul Ricoeur and the Poetic Imperative (August 2007)
The Creative Tension between Love and Justice
W. David Hall - Author

Looks at Ricoeur’s writings on love and justice, prominent toward the end of his life, and how these serve as an interpretive key to his thought as a whole.

This book addresses the thought of Paul Ricoeur (1913–2005), paying particular attention to the creative tension between love and justice as principle themes in his work. Dealing with these issues chiefly in his writings on religion, Ricoeur explore...(Read More)
 
 
Theophany
Theophany (July 2007)
The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Eric D. Perl - Author

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The work of Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite stands at a cusp in the history of thought: it is at once Hellenic and Christian, classical and medieval, philosophical and theological. Unlike the predominantly theological or text-historical studies which constitute much of the scholarly literature on Diony...(Read More)
 
 
Living the Death of God
Living the Death of God (May 2006)
A Theological Memoir
Thomas J. J. Altizer - Author
Mark C. Taylor - Foreword by


The eminent death-of-God theologian traces his lifelong search for a theory that is contemporary yet biblical.

Theologian Thomas J. J. Altizer became both famous and infamous as the chief spokesman for death-of-God theology in the 1960s. In the years that followed, he has created a theological tradition that has influenced all succeeding generations of theologians. Living the Death of God ...(Read More)
 
 
The Talmud's Theological Language-Game
The Talmud's Theological Language-Game (April 2006)
A Philosophical Discourse Analysis
Eugene B. Borowitz - Author

Analyzes the structure and logic of aggadic discourse in the Talmud.

In this pioneering effort, noted Jewish philosopher Eugene B. Borowitz opens up the rules by which the language-game of aggadic discourse is carried on in the Talmud, the foundational document of rabbinic and all later Judaism. These findings are compared with the aggadah (the realm in which almost all explicit statements about classic Jewish reli...(Read More)
 
 
Gods after God
Gods after God (January 2006)
An Introduction to Contemporary Radical Theologies
Richard Grigg - Author

An erudite but eminently readable guide to contemporary radical theologies.

Gods after God provides an accessible introduction to a wide range of contemporary radical theologies. Radical theology can be defined as talk about the divine that rejects the notion of God as a supernatural personal consciousness who created the world and who intervenes in it to accomplish his purposes. In addition, radical theologies t...(Read More)
 
 
The Broken Whole
The Broken Whole (November 2005)
Philosophical Steps Toward a Theology of Global Solidarity
Thomas E. Reynolds - Author


Considers the problem of pluralism and offers a vision of human solidarity for the postmodern era.

In an increasingly precarious global situation, and in light of the postmodern emphasis on difference, efforts to grasp the "whole" as something universally shared by all human beings have fallen short, according to Thomas E. Reynolds. In this book, he explores the philosophical and theologic...(Read More)
 
 
Kierkegaard's Philosophy of Becoming
Kierkegaard's Philosophy of Becoming (September 2005)
Movements and Positions
Clare Carlisle - Author

An accessible and original exploration of the theological and philosophical significance of Kierkegaard’s religious thought.

Søren Kierkegaard’s proposal of “repetition” as the new category of truth signaled the beginning of existentialist thought, turning philosophical attention from the pursuit of objective knowledge to the movement of becoming that characterizes each individual&#x...(Read More)
 
 
Access to God in Augustine's Confessions
Access to God in Augustine's Confessions (April 2005)
Books X-XIII
Carl G. Vaught - Author

Continuing his groundbreaking reappraisal of the Confessions, Carl G. Vaught shows how Augustine's solutions to philosophical and theological problems emerge and discusses the longstanding question of the work's unity.

This is the final volume in Carl G. Vaught's groundbreaking trilogy reappraising Augustine's Confessions, a cornerstone of Western philosophy and one of the most influential works in the Chri...(Read More)
 
Page: 6  7  8  9  10   <<    <    >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg