top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
119 Results Found For: Metaphysics
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Nature and Logos
Nature and Logos (June 2011)
A Whiteheadian Key to Merleau-Ponty's Fundamental Thought
William S. Hamrick - Author
Jan Van der Veken - Author

Exploration of Alfred North Whitehead’s influence on Maurice Merleau-Ponty’s ontology of nature.

This is the first book-length account of how Maurice Merleau-Ponty used certain texts by Alfred North Whitehead to develop an ontology based on nature, and how he could have used other Whitehead texts that he did not know in order to complete his last ontology. This account is enriched by several of Merleau-P...(Read More)
 
 
Philosophical Dialectics
Philosophical Dialectics (March 2006)
An Essay on Metaphilosophy
Nicholas Rescher - Author

A study in philosophical methodology aimed at providing a clear view of the scope and limits of philosophical inquiry.

While the pursuit of philosophy “of” studies—of science, of art, of politics—has blossomed, the philosophy of philosophy remains a comparatively neglected domain. In this book, Nicholas Rescher fills this gap by offering a study in methodology aimed at providing a clear view of ...(Read More)
 
 
Petrified Intelligence
Petrified Intelligence (November 2004)
Nature in Hegel's Philosophy
Alison Stone - Author

A critical introduction to Hegel's metaphysics and philosophy of nature.

Petrified Intelligence offers the first comprehensive treatment of Hegel's Philosophy of Nature, exploring its central place within his system, including its relation to his Logic, Philosophy of Mind, and moral and political thought. It highlights the contemporary relevance of Hegel's approach to nature, particularly with respe...(Read More)
 
 
Whitehead's Philosophy
Whitehead's Philosophy (October 2004)
Points of Connection
Janusz A. Polanowski - Editor
Donald W. Sherburne - Editor

Demonstrates myriad points of connection between Whitehead's philosophy and mainstream philosophical traditions.

This volume explores the range of Alfred North Whitehead's philosophy and his relevance to contemporary philosophical traditions. While philosophers and theologians with only a passing acquaintance with Whitehead might think that his philosophy is unconnected to our Western philosophical tradition, the contri...(Read More)
 
 
On the Essence of Language
On the Essence of Language (September 2004)
The Metaphysics of Language and the Essencing of the Word Concerning Herder's Treatise On the Origin of Language
Martin Heidegger - Author
Wanda Torres Gregory - Translator
Yvonne Unna - Translator

This important early Heidegger text sheds new light on his later focus on language.

This English translation of Vom Wesen der Sprache, volume 85 of Martin Heidegger's Gesamtausgabe, contains fascinating discussions of language that are important both for those interested in Heidegger's thought and for those who wish to think through the nature of language. The guiding theme of these reflections on langua...(Read More)
 
 
Convergence amidst Difference
Convergence amidst Difference (September 2004)
Philosophical Conversations across National Boundaries
Calvin O. Schrag - Author

Engages contemporary European thought on a variety of philosophical topics.

Calvin O. Schrag, one of America's leading philosophers, traverses the literal and metaphysical boundaries of Bulgaria, England, France, Russia, and the Czech Republic and offers a new examination of hermeneutics, phenomenology, subjectivity, and transnational identity. He presents his notion of rationality—transversal rationality—wi...(Read More)
 
 
Panpsychism
Panpsychism (August 2004)
Past and Recent Selected Readings
D. S. Clarke - Edited and with an introduction by

An anthology of readings in panpsychism, spanning two millennia.

Panpsychism is the view that mentality extends from humans to animals, insects, plant cells, and other natural bodies exhibiting persisting unity of organization. Formulated in ancient times, it has since undergone a series of reformulations and defenses against criticisms, and is now experiencing a revival of interest. This comprehensive anthology, whic...(Read More)
 
 
Mothership Connections
Mothership Connections (May 2004)
A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology
Theodore Walker Jr. - Author

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.

Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connect...(Read More)
 
 
Art, Origins, Otherness
Art, Origins, Otherness (August 2003)
Between Philosophy and Art
William Desmond - Author

Addresses the end of art and the task of metaphysics.

Though our time is often said to be post-religious and post-metaphysical, many continue to seek some encounter with otherness and transcendence in art. This book deals diversely with the issues of art, origins, and otherness, both in themselves and in philosophical engagements with the works of Plato, Kant, Hegel, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche, and Heidegger. Addressing ...(Read More)
 
 
For Love of Matter
For Love of Matter (August 2003)
A Contemporary Panpsychism
Freya Mathews - Author

A bold and original work in ecocosmology and metaphysics.

In For Love of Matter Freya Mathews challenges basic assumptions of Western science, modern philosophy, and environmental philosophy, arguing that the environmental crisis is a symptom of a larger, metaphysical crisis. Western science rests on the premise that the world is an inert backdrop to human presence rather than a communicative presence in its ow...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg