top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
116 Results Found For: Metaphysics
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Whitehead's Philosophy
Whitehead's Philosophy (October 2004)
Points of Connection
Janusz A. Polanowski - Editor
Donald W. Sherburne - Editor

Demonstrates myriad points of connection between Whitehead's philosophy and mainstream philosophical traditions.

This volume explores the range of Alfred North Whitehead's philosophy and his relevance to contemporary philosophical traditions. While philosophers and theologians with only a passing acquaintance with Whitehead might think that his philosophy is unconnected to our Western philosophical tradition, the contri...(Read More)
 
 
On the Essence of Language
On the Essence of Language (September 2004)
The Metaphysics of Language and the Essencing of the Word Concerning Herder's Treatise On the Origin of Language
Martin Heidegger - Author
Wanda Torres Gregory - Translator
Yvonne Unna - Translator

This important early Heidegger text sheds new light on his later focus on language.

This English translation of Vom Wesen der Sprache, volume 85 of Martin Heidegger's Gesamtausgabe, contains fascinating discussions of language that are important both for those interested in Heidegger's thought and for those who wish to think through the nature of language. The guiding theme of these reflections on langua...(Read More)
 
 
Convergence amidst Difference
Convergence amidst Difference (September 2004)
Philosophical Conversations across National Boundaries
Calvin O. Schrag - Author

Engages contemporary European thought on a variety of philosophical topics.

Calvin O. Schrag, one of America's leading philosophers, traverses the literal and metaphysical boundaries of Bulgaria, England, France, Russia, and the Czech Republic and offers a new examination of hermeneutics, phenomenology, subjectivity, and transnational identity. He presents his notion of rationality—transversal rationality—wi...(Read More)
 
 
Panpsychism
Panpsychism (August 2004)
Past and Recent Selected Readings
D. S. Clarke - Edited and with an introduction by

An anthology of readings in panpsychism, spanning two millennia.

Panpsychism is the view that mentality extends from humans to animals, insects, plant cells, and other natural bodies exhibiting persisting unity of organization. Formulated in ancient times, it has since undergone a series of reformulations and defenses against criticisms, and is now experiencing a revival of interest. This comprehensive anthology, whic...(Read More)
 
 
Mothership Connections
Mothership Connections (May 2004)
A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology
Theodore Walker Jr. - Author

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.

Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connect...(Read More)
 
 
Art, Origins, Otherness
Art, Origins, Otherness (August 2003)
Between Philosophy and Art
William Desmond - Author

Addresses the end of art and the task of metaphysics.

Though our time is often said to be post-religious and post-metaphysical, many continue to seek some encounter with otherness and transcendence in art. This book deals diversely with the issues of art, origins, and otherness, both in themselves and in philosophical engagements with the works of Plato, Kant, Hegel, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche, and Heidegger. Addressing ...(Read More)
 
 
For Love of Matter
For Love of Matter (August 2003)
A Contemporary Panpsychism
Freya Mathews - Author

A bold and original work in ecocosmology and metaphysics.

In For Love of Matter Freya Mathews challenges basic assumptions of Western science, modern philosophy, and environmental philosophy, arguing that the environmental crisis is a symptom of a larger, metaphysical crisis. Western science rests on the premise that the world is an inert backdrop to human presence rather than a communicative presence in its ow...(Read More)
 
 
Ethics and Selfhood
Ethics and Selfhood (July 2003)
Alterity and the Phenomenology of Obligation
James R. Mensch - Author

Argues that a coherent theory of ethics requires an account of selfhood.

According to James R. Mensch, a minimal requirement for ethics is that of guarding against genocide. In deciding which races are to live and which to die, genocide takes up a standpoint outside of humanity. To guard against this, Mensch argues that we must attain the critical distance required for ethical judgment without assuming a superhuman po...(Read More)
 
 
What Happens to Us When We Think
What Happens to Us When We Think (July 2003)
Transformation and Reality
Michael Gelven - Author

Explores the transformation humans undergo when they do metaphysics.

Author Michael Gelven suggests that thinking metaphysically transforms us, and consequently the nature of metaphysics itself is transformational. Using concrete existential phenomena such as the learning process, how children mature into adults, and how fear can develop into courage, he establishes an understanding of metaphysical transformation.
...(Read More)
 
 
Lost Souls
Lost Souls (March 2003)
The Philosophic Origins of a Cultural Dilemma
David Weissman - Author

Traces the history of mind-body dualism.

Lost Souls examines the origins and consequences of the philosophic idea that mind and body are distinct. The author traces mind-body dualism from Plato, Plotinus, Augustine, and Proclus through Descartes and Kant to Nietzsche, Heidegger, Carnap, and Quine. Mind's separation from body has dominated philosophic thinking for millennia, yet most mental activities are now ex...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg