top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
138 Results Found For: Medieval Studies
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Like Angels on Jacob's Ladder
Like Angels on Jacob's Ladder (January 2008)
Abraham Abulafia, the Franciscans, and Joachimism
Harvey J. Hames - Author

Explores the career of Abraham Abulafia, thirteenth-century founder of the school of ecstatic Kabbalah.

This book explores the career of Abraham Abulafia (ca. 1240–1291), self-proclaimed Messiah and founder of the school of ecstatic Kabbalah. Active in southern Italy and Sicily where Franciscans had adopted the apocalyptic teachings of Joachim of Fiore, Abulafia believed the end of days was approaching and saw hi...(Read More)
 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #30, Issue #1
Mediaevalia Volume #30, Issue #1 (2009)
Dana E. Stewart - Editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #2
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #2 (2008)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #1
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #1 (2008)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Theophany
Theophany (July 2007)
The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Eric D. Perl - Author

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The work of Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite stands at a cusp in the history of thought: it is at once Hellenic and Christian, classical and medieval, philosophical and theological. Unlike the predominantly theological or text-historical studies which constitute much of the scholarly literature on Diony...(Read More)
 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #2
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #2 (2007)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection (January 2007)
Bernardo Lecture Series, No. 15
William R. Cook - Author
Ronald B. Herzman - Author
Sandro Sticca - Editor

Addresses the implications of a document found in the Archivio di Stato di Siena which affirms a connection between Farinata degli Uberti, a Florentine conspicuously encountered by Dante the pilgrim in Inferno 10, and the Sienese Ghibellines with whom he and his fellow Florentine Ghibellines joined, in an alliance which produced the Sienese victory at the battle of Montaperti in 1260.

Dante From Two ...(Read More)
 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #1
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #1 (2007)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Special Issue
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Special Issue (2007)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor
Michael Jay Katz - Guest editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #27, Issue #2
Mediaevalia Volume #27, Issue #2 (2006)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg