top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
141 Results Found For: Medieval Studies
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
From Divine to Human: Dante's Circle vs. Boccaccio's Parodic Centers
From Divine to Human: Dante's Circle vs. Boccaccio's Parodic Centers (January 2009)
Bernardo Lecture Series, No. 16
Dino S. Cervigni - Author
Dana E. Stewart - Editor

In Boccacio’s Decameron, Cervigni sees a parodic echo of the circles of Dante’s Divine Comedy, and asks whether Bocaccio envisions the voyage of the brigata as similar to Dante the Pilgrim’s journey toward the center, first the abysmal center of Lucifer, then towards the highest center, God.

From Divine to Human is the sixteenth in a seriesof publications occ...(Read More)
 
 
Reform and Resistance
Reform and Resistance (July 2008)
Formations of Female Subjectivity in Early Medieval Ecclesiastical Culture
Helene Scheck - Author

HONORABLE MENTION - 2010 First Book Prize, presented by the Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship

Explores the relationship between gender and identity in early medieval Germanic societies.

The early Middle Ages were a vibrant period rich with possibility for both men and women. Reform and Resistance explores the relationship between gender and identity in early medieval Germani...(Read More)
 
 
Chaucerian Spaces
Chaucerian Spaces (June 2008)
Spatial Poetics in Chaucer's Opening Tales
William F. Woods - Author

Examines affect and the significance of space and place in the first six Canterbury Tales.

Chaucerian Spaces explores the affect and the significance of space and place in the first six tales in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales. Relatively little has been written about space in the Canterbury Tales, yet the rewards for attending to this aspect of Chaucer’s aesthetic are ...(Read More)
 
 
Like Angels on Jacob's Ladder
Like Angels on Jacob's Ladder (January 2008)
Abraham Abulafia, the Franciscans, and Joachimism
Harvey J. Hames - Author

Explores the career of Abraham Abulafia, thirteenth-century founder of the school of ecstatic Kabbalah.

This book explores the career of Abraham Abulafia (ca. 1240–1291), self-proclaimed Messiah and founder of the school of ecstatic Kabbalah. Active in southern Italy and Sicily where Franciscans had adopted the apocalyptic teachings of Joachim of Fiore, Abulafia believed the end of days was approaching and saw hi...(Read More)
 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #30, Issue #1
Mediaevalia Volume #30, Issue #1 (2009)
Dana E. Stewart - Editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #2
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #2 (2008)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #1
Mediaevalia Volume #29, Issue #1 (2008)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Theophany
Theophany (July 2007)
The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Eric D. Perl - Author

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The work of Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite stands at a cusp in the history of thought: it is at once Hellenic and Christian, classical and medieval, philosophical and theological. Unlike the predominantly theological or text-historical studies which constitute much of the scholarly literature on Diony...(Read More)
 
 
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #2
Mediaevalia Volume #28, Issue #2 (2007)
Sandro Sticca - Editor
Dana E. Stewart - Associate editor

 
 
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection
Dante from Two Perspectives: The Sienese Connection (January 2007)
Bernardo Lecture Series, No. 15
William R. Cook - Author
Ronald B. Herzman - Author
Sandro Sticca - Editor

Addresses the implications of a document found in the Archivio di Stato di Siena which affirms a connection between Farinata degli Uberti, a Florentine conspicuously encountered by Dante the pilgrim in Inferno 10, and the Sienese Ghibellines with whom he and his fellow Florentine Ghibellines joined, in an alliance which produced the Sienese victory at the battle of Montaperti in 1260.

Dante From Two ...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  3  4  5   >    >>   Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg