top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
7 Results Found For: Liberation Theology
Display Text Only Results
Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
Mothership Connections
Mothership Connections (May 2004)
A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology
Theodore Walker Jr. - Author

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.

Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connect...(Read More)
 
 
The Call of God
The Call of God (July 2003)
Women Doing Theology in Peru
Tom Powers, SJ - Author

Explores the religious thought and lives of the poor women of Peru, who were central to the birth of liberation theology.

Based on conversations with women in one of the poorest neighborhoods in Lima, Peru, The Call of God explores how their faith provides them with an understanding amidst extreme poverty, violence, and displacement. Peru was the birthplace of liberation theology and the poor women of that coun...(Read More)
 
 
Process, Praxis, and Transcendence
Process, Praxis, and Transcendence (January 1999)
James L. Marsh - Author

Presents a North American philosophy of liberation that defends both metaphysics and philosophy of religion, and acts as a critique of neo-imperialism.

Process, Praxis, and Transcendence is a North American philosophy of liberation that defends both metaphysics and philosophy of religion. The book moves from an existential phenomenology of the knowing and choosing subject through affirmation of a processive and l...(Read More)
 
 
Religious Dialectics of Pain and Imagination
Religious Dialectics of Pain and Imagination (October 1994)
Bradford T. Stull - Author

This book explores the possibility of a "liberatory postmodern rhetoric" or, alternatively, a "postmodern liberation rhetoric." The author turns to one of the most ancient disciplines, rhetoric, in order to address a most contemporary concern: how can humans imagine new and better worlds when surrounded by unspeakable pain?

After a foray into key terms--rhetoric, postmodern, liberation, pain, imagination, religion--the author places into con...(Read More)
 
 
Popular Religion and Liberation
Popular Religion and Liberation (July 1990)
The Dilemma of Liberation Theology
Michael R. Candelaria - Author

Liberation theologians either argue for the liberating character of popular religion or they vilify it as alienating and otherworldly. This book takes a comprehensive and in- depth look at the issues, questions, and problems that emerge from the debate among liberation theologians in Latin America. The heart of the book consists of a comparative analysis of two prominent theologians, Juan Carlos Scannone from Argentina, and Juan Luis Segundo from ...(Read More)
 
 
The Political Theory of Liberation Theology
The Political Theory of Liberation Theology (September 1989)
Toward a Reconvergence of Social Values and Social Sciences
John R. Pottenger - Author

This is the first in-depth look at the political theoretical structure of liberation theology. Pottenger shows how liberation theologians, writing from the perspective of the poor and oppressed, denounce modernity and especially capitalism for having caused poverty and military dictatorships. He evaluates the liberation theologians' methodological approach to political theory and the crucial role of Marxism. He also analyzes liberation theologian...(Read More)
 
 
Dialectic of Salvation
Dialectic of Salvation (July 1989)
Issues in Theology of Liberation
Anselm K. Min - Author

This book provides a detailed examination of the central philosophical and theological themes of liberation theology. It covers the role of history and praxis, the dialectics of salvation and liberation, the concept of social and personal sin, Marxism, and the anthropology of concrete totality as the basis of theology.

Dialectic of Salvation is issue oriented, coming to grips with the many criticisms of liberation theology--the critic...(Read More)
 
Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg