top_1_963_35.JPG
top_2_1.jpg top_2_2.jpg
 
 
  HOME   PUBLISH   DONATE   ABOUT   CONTACT   HELP   SEARCH  
 
   
Search Results
17 Results Found For: Environmental Theory
Display Text Only Results
Page: 1  2  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
The Variety of Integral Ecologies
The Variety of Integral Ecologies (June 2017)
Nature, Culture, and Knowledge in the Planetary Era
Sam Mickey - Editor
Sean Kelly - Editor
Adam Robbert - Editor
Mary Evelyn Tucker - Foreword by

Presents integral approaches to ecology that cross the boundaries of the humanities, social sciences, and biophysical sciences.

In the current era of increasing planetary interconnectedness, ecological theories and practices are called to become more inclusive, complex, and comprehensive. The diverse contributions to this book offer a range of integral approaches to ecology that cross the boundaries of the huma...(Read More)
 
 
Rachel Carson
Rachel Carson (May 2008)
Legacy and Challenge
Lisa H. Sideris - Editor
Kathleen Dean Moore - Editor

Leading scholars explore the full range and current significance of Carson’s work.

Long before Rachel Carson would become synonymous with environmental activism, she was a nature and science writer, penning The Sense of Wonder for children, and three books about the ocean and its inhabitants—including the bestselling The Sea around Us. Based solidly on science and written in beautiful ...(Read More)
 
 
Understanding Gregory Bateson
Understanding Gregory Bateson (May 2008)
Mind, Beauty, and the Sacred Earth
Noel G. Charlton - Author

Introduction to Gregory Bateson’s unique perspective on the relationship of humanity to the natural world.

Gregory Bateson (1904–1980), anthropologist, psychologist, systems thinker, student of animal communication, and insightful environmentalist, was one of the most important holistic thinkers of the twentieth century. Noel G. Charlton offers this first truly accessible introduction to Bateson&rsquo...(Read More)
 
 
Environmental Conflict
Environmental Conflict (August 2002)
In Search of Common Ground
Jeffrey J. Pompe - Author
James R. Rinehart - Author

Explores how economics can help solve environmental problems.

This straightforward translation of environmental economics discusses issues and concerns that have long-lasting and often substantial effects. The authors bridge the gap between the natural and social sciences by examining how economic decisions interact with the environment. In addition, they explain why economics plays an important role in clarifying env...(Read More)
 
 
Technology and the Contested Meanings of Sustainability
Technology and the Contested Meanings of Sustainability (May 2001)
Aidan Davison - Author

Argues that sustainability requires more than economic and technological efficiency.

This transdisciplinary inquiry presents a new way of thinking about sustainability and technology that takes us beyond the familiar preoccupation with ecoefficiency, and toward the contested moral question of what most nourishes our ability to care for our world. In contrast to the technocratic aim of controlling a perilous future, th...(Read More)
 
 
An Ethics of Place
An Ethics of Place (March 2001)
Radical Ecology, Postmodernity, and Social Theory
Mick Smith - Author

Adopts ecological theory to critique, confront, and suggest solutions for contemporary cultural problems.

Mick Smith links together the concepts of the ecological self and an environmental ethos--an ethics of place--as a way to re-engage the moral concerns of radical ecological theories. Best understood as an ethical critique of modernity, radical ecological theory challenges and extends the problematic moral framework now used within ...(Read More)
 
 
Nature and Psyche
Nature and Psyche (November 2000)
Radical Environmentalism and the Politics of Subjectivity
David W. Kidner - Author

Underscores the limitations of traditional psychology to envision a more healthy ecological and psychological future.

Nature and Psyche argues that psychological and environmental writing and action are all too often colonized by the same assumptions that inhibit ecological and cultural diversity. Industrialized monocultures conceal the character of our alienation from nature and, thus, prevent the emergence of ef...(Read More)
 
 
Primitives in the Wilderness
Primitives in the Wilderness (July 1997)
Deep Ecology and the Missing Human Subject
Peter C. van Wyck - Author

Brings the radical environmentalism known as deep ecology into an encounter with contemporary social and cultural theory, showing that deep ecology still has much to learn from such theory.

In Primitives in the Wilderness, Peter van Wyck brings the radical environmentalism known as deep ecology into an encounter with contemporary social and cultural theory. With an eye to critically exposing unexamined essential...(Read More)
 
 
Confronting the Experts
Confronting the Experts (April 1996)
Brian Martin - Editor

These six personal case histories of challenges to establishment experts tell why they questioned conventional wisdom, what methods they used, how they dealt with the experts' response, and what lessons they learned.

"In the tradition of C. Wright Mills, this book is a major contribution to a theory of confronting experts. It's a courageous book, as some authors' stories point out. Critics, whistle blowers and victims of...(Read More)
 
 
Crazy Mountains
Crazy Mountains (November 1995)
Learning from Wilderness to Weigh Technology
David Strong - Author

In the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It, this is a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains in Montana, urging us to awaken from the spell of technology.
Reality is slipping away, writes David Strong in Crazy Mountains, and is being eroded by a glut of technological devices and commodities. But all is not lost if we learn to care for the things at the center of the good life.
Written in the tradition of...(Read More)
 
Page: 1  2  Amount of Results to Show: Sort by:
 
bottom_1_963_35.jpg